What The Pros Say i...

What The Pros Say is True  

RSS

Deacon
(@deacon)
Honorable Member
18/02/2020 9:40 pm  

Way back when, in the mid 80's, a friend of mine, Jerry Chasteen, and I were spit balling ideas for a song.  One of the ideas was a five word line we both thought might be good, "It was like a dream", was the idea.  Off and on we worked at it, but never came up with a viable lyric.  Jerry and I drew apart over the years after I moved to Tennessee, but I have taken a few more stabs at the idea to no avail.  Now pro writers would probably have pushed a song out in no time at all, not me, I'm no pro.  Pro writers will tell you don't give up, keep working at it, go back to it.  This morning I was sitting at my writing desk, (a small desk in the corner of the bedroom next to three guitars, an amp, a cheap keyboard, and a stack of subject note books, you know, the ones that have the spiral wires for bindings, leafing through the pages of over 40+ years of half finished lyrics, ideas, and hooks, when I came across that five word line.  Within about five minutes this is what I penned;

It was like a dream,
when I saw you there.
Standing all alone,
in the crowd.
Oh and how my heart stood still,
when you smiled.
It was like a dream,
come true

It was like a dream,
when your eyes met mine.
From across the room,
I heard you sigh.
Still the band played on and on
all the while.
It was like a dream,
come true.

Now it isn't finished, but after about 30 years, I'm tickled pink it's come this far.  What the pros say is true, don't give up.  Best wishes,

Speak soon

Music is an international language, say it with a song. deaconmusic4u@gmail.com

Gary E. Andrews
(@gary-e-andrews)
A Night To ReMember
19/02/2020 12:27 pm  

Given time to incubate, you may get into the zone, assume the persona of the Singer-Character, and be able to finish his story.